I first created this site when I was a student at the University of York in the UK. I am now 32 and live in Yorkshire with my 8-year-old border collie, Magpie. I work full time as a professional freelance artist, and run this site in my spare time. I also do some genetics consultancy, and I am working on a number of books.

I have no formal qualifications in genetics (my degree and postgrad are unrelated), and I do not breed animals, however I have a general interest in all aspects of biology/zoology. My other hobbies include photography, moth-trapping, wildlife watching, and writing. In addition, I am a collector of antique and vintage pet photographs (mostly 1860s-1940s) and have over 3,000 in my collection.

I originally created this site in 2007, and I continue to update regularly with corrections, new information and sometimes entire new sections. The photographs I've used are mainly my own, but where stated I have used photos given to me by friends and readers. All of the illustrations are my own, including the animations.
Many of the photos were taken at dog shows and I was unable at the time to get permission from the owners. If you see your dog on this site then please let me know and I am happy to add whatever credit you would like.
If you have any comments on this site, I'd love to hear from you, so please send me an e-mail at jchappellart@hotmail.com. I am also interested in photo submissions, particularly for colours or patterns that I don't currently have any clear examples of. However, any photos you submit must be your own.

Rosie, border collie cross (Unknown - 2010)

Magpie, my current dog, a sport-bred border collie


Animal Art by Jess (website)