About the Artist

I am a 32-year-old full time animal artist living in the beautiful city of York, in the UK, and working for clients around the world.

I currently share my life with my rescue border collie, Magpie, and previously owned pet rats for a number of years. I have been drawing animals for a long time, and my dog cartoons are familiar to thousands of people across the world through my internationally popular genetics website (http://www.doggenetics.co.uk). In January 2016 I started offering commissions to the public, and at the start of 2017 I left my day job in an office to concentrate on my art. So far, I haven't looked back!

My work includes both portraits and cartoons, and I work mostly in watercolour, gouache, and acrylic ink.

I also enjoy nature and dog photography, mostly as a hobby.

One of my other passions is vintage photographs, particularly those involving animals. I have a large collection of vintage dog photos, which I share regularly on my popular Facebook page Vintage Dog-A-Day.

Most of my work is through Facebook, so click here to follow Animal Art by Jess on Facebook and keep up with my latest commissions and new products

Click here for my Etsy shop

Click here for my Redbubble shop (t-shirts, mugs, tote bags and more!)

Click here for my Society6 shop (US only)

Jess in Bern, Switzerland (2016)